Arnica

INCI Name / Latin Name

Arnica Montana L.

Botanical family

Asteraceae

Cosmetic benefits

In cosmetics, the Arnica flower is used in the form of macerated oil. The principle of maceration consists in mixing dried flowers with a vegetable oil to extract all their properties. Arnica oil has traditionally been used for its soothing properties. It is known to soothe painful areas and treat bruising.

Origin / Cultivation

Arnica, also known as "mountain arnica", is a plant with yellow flowers that grows in mountainous regions. Its origin and history remain uncertain. It seems that it was known in ancient times but the earliest written texts that mention it date back to the Middle Ages when Saint Hildegard of Bingen described its magical virtues and called it a "love elixir".


This mountain plant has been popularly known in France as the "boo-boo plant" (since when applied locally, it is said to reabsorb haematomas) and the "holy plant" (due to its rapid, almost miraculous effects).  In the 14th century, the Italian botanist and doctor Matthaeus Silvaticus was the first to speak of "ptarmica" (derived from the Greek "ptarmike" meaning to sneeze), which was deformed to give the word "arnica".

The Centifolia product(s) where this ingredient is present :

Arnica

Nom INCI / Nom Latin

Arnica Montana L.

Famille botanique

Asteraceae

Bienfaits cosmétiques

En cosmétique, la fleur d’Arnica s’utilise sous la forme de macérât. Le principe de macération consiste à mélanger des fleurs séchées à une huile végétale pour en extraire toutes ses propriétés. Le macérât d’Arnica est traditionnellement utilisé pour ses propriétés apaisantes. Il est réputé pour apaiser les zones endolories et faciliter la résorption des bleus.

Origine / Culture

L’Arnica appelée aussi « Arnica des montagnes » est une plante à fleurs jaunes qui pousse dans les régions montagneuses. Son origine et son histoire restent incertaines. Il semblerait qu’elle soit connue dès l’Antiquité mais les premiers écrits l’évoquant dateraient du Moyen-Age lorsque Sainte Hildegarde de Bingen rapporta ses vertus magiques et l’évoqua comme « élixir d’amour ».

Cette plante montagneuse a connu plusieurs noms populaires comme «l’herbe aux chutes » (car en application locale elle permettrait de résorber les hématomes) ou encore « l’herbe sainte » (en raison de ses effets rapides et quasi miraculeux). Au 14ème siècle, le botaniste et médecin italien Matthaeus Silvaticus est le premier à parler de « ptarmica » (dérivé du grec « ptarmiké », qui fait éternuer) et qui par déformation donnera le mot « arnica ».

le(s) produits où cet ingrédient est présent